OCCUPATIONAL DRIVERS LICENSE INFORMATION PACKET

OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENDED OR REVOKED DRIVER'S LICENSE

1 Your driver's license may be suspended or your right to get a license can be denied for many reasons, such as:

Refusing to take a breath test

Failing a breath test

Having any detectible amount of alcohol while driving if you're under 21

Causing an auto accident while driving without insurance

Possession of Marijuana or other controlled substances.

2. What is an occupational or restricted license?

An occupational or restricted license is a special restricted license authorized by a Court and issued to persons whose license has been suspended or revoked for certain offenses. This restricted or occupational license authorizes the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with a person's occupation, for educational purposes or in the performance of essential household duties.

3. Is the Order from the Court the actual occupational or restricted license?

No, this is the order granting the occupational license. The Court Order and all other required items need to be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so an occupational or restricted license can be issued. The Court Order may be used as a temporarily restricted license for 45 days from the date of the judge's signature while DPS processes the occupational license, and is to be kept in the glove box of the motor vehicle you operate.

4. Can you drive a commercial motor vehicle with an occupational or restricted license?

No, If a person's driver license or the privilege to drive is suspended, revoked, cancelled, or denied under any law in this state, the person may not be granted an occupational, restricted or "essential need" license to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

5. What are the requirements for obtaining the occupational/restricted license in a DWI or ALR suspension case?

To be eligible to apply for the occupational/restricted license, the person (Petitioner) must have a legitimate essential and actual need to drive a motor vehicle for transportation to and from his/her work place, to attend class at an educational facility, or to perform essential household duties.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR ESSENTIAL NEED LICENSE

These instructions are provided strictly as a courtesy. You should contact an attorney or the Texas Department of Public Safety if further assistance is needed.

- 1. Obtain proof of financial responsibility (Form SR-22) from your insurance carrier and a Copy of your Driving Record from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
- 2. Complete the Petition for Occupational License, **Exhibit "A"**, and Form **DIC-37** (last page attached to Petition). Upon completion, you must file the Petition with the Justice Court Clerk. The filing fee is: **\$46.00**.
- 3. After filing the Petition with the Justice Court Clerk, a hearing will be set on your Petition.

NOTE: If the Petition and Exhibit "A" are not completely filled out, it will not be considered.

- 4. At the hearing, you will be required to provide the Court proof of liability insurance coverage on the vehicles you will be driving (Form SR-22) and a **copy of your driving record**. At the hearing, the Presiding Judge will consider your Petition. **The Petitioner is** <u>required</u> **to attend the hearing**.
- 5. If the Presiding Judge grants your Petition, you will be given one certified copy of the Order. You must carry one certified copy with you at all times when driving a motor vehicle and present it to any peace officer upon request. YOU WILL ALSO BE REQUIRED TO KEEP A TRAVEL LOG (EXHIBIT "C"). You should continue to carry the certified Order and maintain the travel log after you receive your occupational license from the Texas Department of Public Safety. FAILURE TO DO SO WILL RESULT IN REVOCATION OF THE LICENSE. A second certified copy of the Order will be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety. The following certified copies will be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety by the Court:
 - (a) a certified copy of the Order Granting Occupational License;
 - (b) Form SR-22 (from insurance agent);
 - (c) Form DIC-37 (completed);
- 6. Once the Court submits the certified copy of the Order to the Texas Department of Public Safety, it is the responsibility of the petitioner to contact the Texas Department of Public Safety at **512-424-2600** or at the address below to pay any applicable fees or submit any additional information the Department may require.

Driver Improvement and Control Bureau Texas Department of Public Safety Occupational License Section P.O. Box 15999 Austin, TX 78761

7. Additional information concerning occupational licenses may be obtained from the Texas Department of Public Safety in Austin, Texas, at:

"Driver Improvement" - (512) 424-2000

CHECKLIST FOR ESSENTIAL NEED LICENSES:

§521.244, *Texas Transportation Code* - Insurance: Petitioner must have proof of liability insurance.

§521.242(b) and (d), *Texas Transportation Code* - Jurisdiction: Jurisdiction for Justice Courts includes the precinct or county in which:

- (1) The person resides; or
- (2) the offense occurred for which the license was suspended.

Justice Courts does not have jurisdiction over suspensions of licenses for convictions of the following offenses:

- (1) Texas Penal Code 19.05
- (2) Texas Penal Code 49.04
- (3) Texas Penal Code 49.07
- (4) Texas Penal Code 49.08

The County and District Courts have jurisdiction over license suspensions for the above offenses. The Justice Courts **does** have jurisdiction over, but is not limited to, administrative suspensions for Failing a Breath Test, Chapter 524 of the Texas Transportation Code, or Refusing to take a Breath Test, Chapter 724 of the Texas Transportation Code.

§521.245, Texas Transportation Code - Required counseling: If Petitioner's suspension is for refusing/failing the breath/blood test, then he/she is required to attend a program designed to provide counseling and rehabilitation services to persons for alcohol dependence. Cannot be the same programs covered by DWI School or Repeat Offender School.

§521.248, *Texas Transportation Code* - Restrictions: Person may not operate a vehicle more than four (4) hours in any twenty-four (24) hour period unless waived for good cause, then not more than twelve (12) hours in any twenty-four (24) period.

§521.251, *Texas Transportation Code* - Effective Dates: The essential need license takes effect:

(1) Immediately: If suspended for failing/refusing breath test and **no** suspensions for failing/refusing breath test

or DWI within five (5) years prior;

(2) 91st day: If suspended for failing/refusing breath test and

there has been a suspension for failing/refusing

breath test within five (5) years prior;

(3) 181st day: If there is a suspension within **five (5) years**

prior for conviction of DWI, Intoxication Assault

or Intoxication Manslaughter.

			NO	<u></u>	
THE STATE OF TEXAS			§ 8	IN THE JUSTICE COURT	
VS.			§ §	PRECINCT TWO	
NAME: Petitioner TDL:			§	OF	
Petitioner's Texas Driver's License Number			\$ \$ \$	ATASCOSA COUNTY, TEXAS	
	ORIG	INAL PETI	TION FOR OCCU	PATIONAL LICENSE	
TO THE H	HONORA	BLE JUDGE	OF SAID COURT:		
applying	for an	Occupation	al License to me	Petitioner herein, eet essential need pursuant to and would show the Court as	
			1.		
YES	NO	Is Petitioner's Texas Driver's License suspension due to physical or mental disability or impairment? IF YES, THE COURT MAY NOT GRANT THIS PETITION.			
YES	NO	Petition, ha	as Petitioner held	ling the date of filing of the more than one (1) occupational ssued:	
YES	NO	for the re		's License currently suspended viction for failing to maintain	
YES	NO	for the r		's License currently suspended /refusing a breath/blood test	
YES	NO	for the rea Intoxicatio If YES: Ca Offense: _ Court:	son of a convictio n Manslaughter or nuse No.		
OTHER:				License is currently suspended	

Other persons in Petitioner's household who possess a driver's license

but are not able to provide employment, education, and/or h	transportation necessary for Petitioner's nousehold duties:
Name: Name:	Age: Relationship: Age: Relationship: Age: Relationship: Age: Relationship:
	III.
motor vehicle on the highways specific purposes and under the	al need for him/her to drive and operate a and streets of the State of Texas for the specific terms, restrictions, and conditions is attached hereto and made a part hereof
	(Name of Petitioner)
	(Address)

(Telephone Number)

STATE OF TEXAS			
	§		
COUNTY OF ATASCOSA	§		

BEFORE ME, THE UNDERSE	IGNED AUTHORITY, on this day personally
appeared	, who being by me
duly sworn, on his/her oath and	d said that he/she is the Petitioner in the
above-styled and numbered caus	se, that he/she read the foregoing Origina
Petition for Occupational License,	and that every statement is within his/her
knowledge and is true and correct	t.
	(Printed Name)
	to before me, to certify which witness my the day of
	Notary Public in and for the State of Texas

EXHIBIT "A" RESTRICTIONS REQUESTED BY PETITIONER

Petitioner has essential need to operate a motor vehicle in the following manner and conditions:

Days of the applicable pu	week for operation of a motor vehicle (circle days for each urpose):
	Employment purposes: Sun; Mon; Tues; Wed; Thurs; Fri; Sat (Saturday and Sunday as may be scheduled).
	Educational purposes: Sun; Mon; Tues; Wed; Thurs; Fri; Sat (Saturday and Sunday as may be scheduled).
	Household duty purposes: Sun; Mon; Tues; Wed; Thurs; Fri; Sat
	Probationary and community service purposes: Sun; Mon; Tues; Wed; Thurs; Fri; Sat
	not exceed: four (4) hours; twelve (12) hours of tion during any twenty-four (24) hour period.
The actual h	nours of travel may vary and, therefore, a Travel Log will be
Travel is per	mitted during the following hours:m. tom.
List counties	of travel:
Residence: _ Employer: _	mitted between residence and employment:
	phone no.:
If travel is carry Work expected travel is	required during the course of employment, the Petitioner shall a Orders specifying the reason for travel, destination and avel hours. Under these circumstances, the maximum radius of miles from
School name	mitted to educational facilities:
	2SS:

Travel is permitted in the performance in the household is able to perform on b	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
YES NO within limits of Texas.	County,
Travel is permitted to comply with program requirements, and in the assignments: Probation Officer:	performance of community service County:
Probationary and other "special" circums	
APPROVED: ATASCOSA COUNTY ATTORNEY	(Name of Petitioner)

DATA FOR TEXAS OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE

PRINT OR TYPE	: :							
Full Name:	 First	First Middle				 Last		
Address:		11130		Middle			Lust	
Addi C33.	Street Address							
	City			St	ate	Zip	Code	
Date of Birth Month Day Year		Sex	Color Eyes	Color Hair	Weight Pounds	Height Ft. Inch	Driver's License No.	
				 Us	sual Signa	ture of Ap	pplicant	
Usual Signature of Applicant Mail to: Driver Improvement and Control Occupational License Section Texas Department of Public Safety P.O. Box 15999 Austin, TX 78761					pplicant			
INFORMATIO				INE IS	FOR DEP	ARTMEN [*]	T USE ONLY	
DATE OF ISSUE:					EXPIR	RE:		
(DIC-37)								

SR-22 (insurance)

In the United States, an **SR-22** is a vehicle liability insurance document used by some state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offices. It provides proof that a driver has the minimum required insurance liability insurance coverage for a particular state.

A DMV my require an SR-22 from a driver in order to reinstate his or her driving privileges following an uninsured car accident or conviction of another traffic related offense, such as Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). For drivers who require SR-22 documentation, but do not own a vehicle, the state my require such drivers to obtain and provide proof of non-owner SR-22 police to be eligible for reinstated driving privileges. If an SR-22 should expire or be canceled, the insurance will no longer be in effect.