Plea Must Be Made In Writing or In Person On or Before Your Appearance Date
Telephone Call Does Not Constitute Appearance

REPLY FORM
Mail to the Justice Court Marked on this letter.
Enclose a copy of the Citation and Your Driver’s License with your reply.
You are required to keep the court advised of your mailing address until the case is disposed.
If your address is not correct on your citation you are required to furnish the Court with your Correct Mailing Address

JUSTICE COURTS
ATASCOSA COUNTY, TEXAS

JUDGE WAYNE S. VAUGHN
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT. #2

JUDGE FELIX HERRERA
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT. #1

2136 2nd Street 1567 FM 3175
Pleasanton, Texas 78064 Lytle, TX 78052
(830) 569-2801 (830) 772-5828

JUDGE WILLIE LEAL, JR JUDGE RUSTY PRASIFKA
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE: JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT. #3 JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT. #4
Name (as appears on license) P.0. Box 416 744 Hwy 281 South
o o Jourdanton, Texas 78026 Pleasanton, Texas 78064-4402
Citation# Date of Citation (830) 769-2074 (830) 569-6614
Date cited to appear Driver's License # This letter is furnished as a courtesy to you by the Justice Courts of Atascosa County to assist you in making a disposition of the charges filed against you.
Mailing Address 1. PLEASE NOTE: The Judge cannot discuss the merits of a pending judicial proceeding prior to trial (Canon 3(5), Code of Judicial Conduct). This means the Judge
cannot discuss your citation with you before the trial except for procedural questions.
city State Zip Code 2. Ifyou FAIL TO RESPOND to the charges BY THE APPEARANCE DATE SHOWN ON THE CITATION, an additional charge may be filed against you for Violate
Promise to Appear or Failure To Appear with warrants issued for your arrest. (WARRANT FEES OF $50.00 and DENIAL FOR RENEWAL OF DRIVER'S LICENSE
Home Phone # ( ) Cell Phone # ( ) FEE OF $10.00 will be issued on each charge for EXECUTING OR PROCESSING A WARRANT OR DENIAL OF DRIVER'S LICENSE.)

3. AJUVENILE who fails to appear by the time and date on a citation may have their license suspended as required by law (Transportation Code Section 729.001).
MINORS under 17 years of age must appear with parent or guardian on ALL traffic violations. MINORS under 18 years of age must appear with parent or guardian
on all alcoholic and tobacco related offenses.

A: PLEA FORM 4. IF YOU WISH TO ENTER A PLEA OF GUILTY or NOLO CONTENDERE, please indicate in the proper space provided on reply form. A plea of Nolo Contendere

means that you do not contest the state’s charges against you. The fine and conviction for a Nolo Contendere plea is the same as that for a plea of Guilty. Either

plea indicates that you agree to waive appearance before the Court for trial.

Complete either A or B below

Check One:

__1.1hereby enter a plea of GUILTY and waive appearance for trial. CASHIER’S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER in the
amount of the fine is enclosed payable to the proper Justice Court.

__ 2.1hereby enter a plea of NOLO CONTENDERE and waive appearance for trial. CASHIER’S CHECK OR MONEY
ORDER in the amount of the fine is enclosed payable to the proper Justice Court.

Refer to the schedule shown on the reverse side to determine the total amount of fine(s) and costs acceptable by the Court. (These fines apply only to
cases handled prior to appearance or judgment being entered.) RETURN A COPY OF THE CITATION, REPLY FORM AND A SELF-ADDRESSED
STAMPED ENVELOPE WITH YOUR REMITTANCE TO ASSURE PROPER CREDIT.

3. I hereby enter a plea of NOT GUILTY and request: a. Trial by Judge b. Trial by Jury 5. If you wish to enter a plea of NOT GUILTY and desire a trial, advise the court by checking #3 on the Reply Form on or before the appearance date. You will be
notified by the court when to appear for trial and any specific requirements of the court concerning bail requirements, etc.
Signed this day of .20 , 6. DRIVING SAFETY COURSE (CCP Art. 45.0511, Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course Dismissal Procedures): (Holders of a CDL are NOT

eligible for DSC or Deferred Disposition.)

Signature of Defendant

A) You may be able to require this charge be dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course, a motorcycle operator training course, or Safety Belt
course as appropriate. You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request to take the course.
B) ACHARGE MAY BE DISMISSED BY COMPLETING A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE IF:
1. You submit your application for the Driving Safety Course and it is approved by the Court. Do not take the course until court approval is given.

B. DRIVING SAFEY COURSE APPLICATION-carefully read #6—CDL drivers are not eligible for DSC.

I hereby request to take a Driver Safety Course CCP Art. 45.0511. Enclosed is my notarized request, proof of liability insurance, a copy of 2. Youare Thgrged ‘;Vith T( moving traffic violation (;trher than 25| mph O;Fmore %bove the posted speed limit, 95 mph or more, passing a school bus, construction

my driver's license, and a cashier's check or money order in the amount of $144.00. zone violations w/ workers present, or certain offenses involving traffic accidents;

y . . y $144.00.. 3. You have NOT used this option for a ticket with an offense date, the date you broke the law that is 1 year from the offense date of your current ticket.
My Plea is: Guilty Nolo Contendere 4y - ; . T ; . ) I
) ) . ) - . . You have a valid Texas Driver License other than a Commercial Driver License and you provide the court a copy. (Out of State-Active Duty Military may be
| certify that | have a valid Texas Driver’s License or permit; that the alleged speed was not 25 mph or more above the posted limit; that | eligible)

have not completed a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense and am not in the process of 5. You provide the court with proof of liability insurance that complies with state law.
taking such a course; and that | have not completed a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 which is not reflected on my driving record. 6. You pay an administration fee of $10.00 PLUS court cost of $134.00, which makes a total of $144.00. in form of a cashier's check or money order

I understand that | will be charged court costs and an administration fee and that these fees are non-refundable and must be paid to the made out to the proper Justice Court.
court before Driver Safety Course will be granted.
| understand that | am not eligible for the Driving Safety Course unless | provide proof of liability insurance as required by Texas Motor

Vehicle Safety-Responsibility Act.

7. After the court receives and approves items requested in lines #1, #4, #5, and #6, due on or before your appearance date written on your ticket, you will be
given notice of the following:

Obtain a copy of your driving record (request #3a) and return to the proper Court within 21 days. You may do this online at
Signature of Defendant-Under penalty of perjury https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager with a credit card or by completing the DPS Form DR-1 (available at
Signed this day of 20 ) b http://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/DR-1.pdf by following the instructions written on the form.
* Complete a Driving Safety Course/Motorcycle Operator Course that is state approved and return to the Court within 90 days. (Alistis
available at https://www.tdIr.texas.gov/driver/driver.htm

a.

*Signature Must Be Notarized Notary Public of the State of Texas / Justice Court Clerk


https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager
http://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/DR-1.pdf
http://www.tdlr.texas.gov/driver/driver.htm

JUSTICE COURT-ATASCOSA COUNTY, TEXAS
SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES

This schedule applies to fines paid on or before your appearance date.

VIOLATION

For Speeding violation 25 miles Per Hour and Qver...............ccccccooniunne. .$334.00
For CDL Drivers: Speeding violation 15 miles Over the Speed Limit... $334.00
Any School Crossing ZONE VIOIAHON. ..........uiiiiiiiiit ittt $305.00
Overtaking and passing @ SCNOOI DUS.........cuuiiiiiiiiiii et $1,055.00
Fail t0 StOP fOr SCROOI BUS. ........eouiiiiiitiiet ettt $1,055.00

SPEEDING VIOLATION: $6.00 per Mile Over Speed Limit Plus $134.00 Court Cost & Fees

Disregard Stop Sign or Traffic SIGNal.........coviiiiiiiiii e $245.00
Disregard Warning Sign at Construction **See NOte................ccooiiiiiiiiiiiiii s $245.00
Fail to Drive in Single Lane or Unsafe 1ane Change..............coviiiiiiiiiiiiiiicec e $245.00
Changed Lanes WHeN UNSAfE.........uiiiiiiiiiii e $245.00
Disregard No Passing Zone..............ccccoeevunee. ....$245.00
Operate Motorcycle without Approved Headgear ....$111.00
NO Driver's LiICENSe........ccovvvvirvieriiiiiiicne, ....$235.00
Displayed Altered DrVEI'S  LICENSE. .. ... viiiiiiiie ittt $280.00
Expired Driver's License or Failure 10 DISPIaY............coouiiiiiiiiiiiiiii e $175.00
Fail to Report Change of Address (or Name) on DriVEr'S LICENSE. ..........eiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiee e $155.00
Violate Driver's LiCense RESHHCHON. ............ccuiiiiiiiiiii i $175.00
Permitting Unlicensed Person or Minor to Drive............ccccovieiicnnnne. ....$280.00
Ride not secured by Safety Belt/Improperly Worn (Driver) (Passenger).... ....$175.00
Unrestrained Child 8-15 yrs (and those under 8 but taller than 4'9")........ ....$270.00
Child Safety Seat (Under 8 yrs or less than 4'9” in eIght)..........coiiiiiiiiiiiii i $255.00
Consume Alcoholic Beverage While DIIVING........cveiviiiiiiiiiiie et $315.00
Possession of Alcoholic Beverage in Motor Vehicle (“Open Container’)...................... ....$315.00
Minor in Possession of Alcoholic Beverage (under 18 yrs must appear with parent).... ....$315.00
PUDBLC INtOXICALION. ... .eveeee e ....$315.00
Possession of Narcotic Paraphernalia...............oovioiiioieiii et e e $515.00
Drove on Improved Shoulder when Prohibited...............ooriiiiiiiiii e $235.00
Drove without Lights WHhen REQUIFEM..........co.iiiiiiiiiiii i $185.00
Fail to Dim Lights-Meeting or FOIOWING. ........c.viiiiiiiiiiii e $185.00
No Liability Insurance..............c.c.c.... ....$305.00
Following too closely..... ....$205.00
Display Expired License Plates............cccoovvriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiienn ....$135.00
Fail to Yield Right-of-Way/ Pass Stationary Emergency VEhiCle............ccouiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiccc e $275.00
Fail 10 CONIOl SPEEU. ... ...viiiiiiiiii ettt ettt ettt ettt ettt ettt et et ete e $245.00
Unsafe Speed or IMpeding TraffiC............ooiiiiiiiii e $245.00
Fail to Report Injury ACCIAENE @t ONCE.......cuviiiieeii ittt e et e e e e aeeaee s $245.00
Defective Brakes (or No Brakes) ....$195.00
Defective or No Head Lamp(s) or Tail LAMP(S)......c.vverveiuiiiiiiiiieeie s $195.00

JUSTICE COURT-ATASCOSA COUNTY, TEXAS
SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES

Failure to Display or Expired Motor Vehicle INSPECHON. ...........oiiiiiiiiiiiii e $145.00
Use Equipment Not Approved (Glass Coating Material) .............ccuiiiiiiiiiiiic e $165.00
Wrong Side of Roadway Not Passing or Unsafe TUM...........coouiiiiiiiiiiiiiic e $230.00
Cross Median Where Prohibited............c.cccooviiiiennnn. .$225.00
Failure to Display Front/Back LICENSE PIAte...........coiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie i $180.00
Violate PrOMISE 10 ADPEAI. ... .ieiiii ittt ettt et e e e nra $245.00
FaIl 10 APDBAI. ...ttt ettt ettt $325.00
Improperly Passing Certain VENICIES. ...........oiuiiiiiii i $1,034.00
(Failing to move over/slowing down when passing stopped emergency, tow or other specified vehicles.)

ODSCUIEA LICENSE PIALE. ... ..e.viiviiticie ittt ettt et ettt et ta s e teebeeseeseebesteensare s $381.00
IMproper USe Of SEIVICE ANIMAL.........ciueiiiii ittt ettt et e et e e e nteeeneeeeneeeanneas $881.00 (see below)

(Plus 30 hours of community service for nonprofit org. or government agency serving persons w/visual impairment or other disabilities.

CONTACT THE APPROPRIATE COURT (IN PERSON OR IN WRITING) FOR:

1)  Charges or fines not listed.

2) Fines for any offense which occurred in school zone.

3) CONSTRUCTION ZONE VIOLATIONS (W/ workers present)

**NOTE: If workers present in construction zone the fine doubles.

4) If you receive a citation for NO LIABILITY INSURANCE proof must be shown with the effective date prior to the
issuance of the citation and show proof to the Court on or before your appearance date, your case will be
dismissed.

5) Charges for EXPIRED Motor Vehicle Inspection, Registration and Driver’s License if Remedied before first court
appearance of date of citation will be dismissed with a $20.00 dismissal fee plus a copy of the receipt upon
proof of renewal.

This document is furnished as a courtesy by the Court and does not constitute legal advice and does not cover all
situations.

Pay By Cashier’s Check or Money Order
NO PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS

Payable to: Justice Court DO NOT MAIL CASH

JUVENILES 16 & UNDER MUST APPEAR IN COURT WITH PARENT OR GUARDIAN BEFORE
THEIR APPEARANCE DATE.

NOTE: *Minors under 17 years of age must appear with parent
or guardian on all traffic violations.
*Minors under 18 years of age must appear with parent
or guardian on all ALCOHOL and TOBACCO related
offenses.

Revised 9/13/2023
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