Plea Must Be Made In Writing or In Person On or Before Your Appearance Date Telephone Call Does Not Constitute Appearance

I	REPLYFORM	
Mail to the Justic	ce Court Marked on this letter.	
Enclose a copy of the Citation	n and <u>Your</u> Driver's License with your reply.	
	ed of your mailing address until the case is disposed.	
If your address is not correct on your citation you ar	re required to furnish the Court with your Correct Mailing Addr	ess
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE:		
Name (as appears on license)		
Citation#	Date of Citation	
Date cited to appear	Driver's License #	This
		1.
CityState	Zip Code	2.
Home Phone # () Cel	II Phone # ()	
		• 3.
Comple	te either A or B below	
A: PLEA FORM		4.
Check One:		
	ance for trial. CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER in the	
amount of the fine is enclosed payable to the prop	er Justice Court. waive appearance for trial. CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY	
ORDER in the amount of the fine is enclosed payal		
	a. Trial by Judgeb. Trial by Jury	5.
Signed thisday of	_, 20, Signature of Defendant	6.
	Signature of Defendant	
	fully read #6 CDL drivers are not aligible for DSC	A)
B. DRIVING SAFET COURSE APPLICATION-care	fully read #6—CDL drivers are not eligible for DSC.	D)
		B)
I hereby request to take a Driver Safety Course CCP Art. 45.0	511. Enclosed is my notarized request, proof of liability insurance, a cop	by of
my driver's license, and a cashier's chec	ck or money order in the amount of <u>\$144.00.</u>	

My Plea is: _____Guilty ____Nolo Contendere

I certify that I have a valid Texas Driver's License or permit; that the alleged speed was not 25 mph or more above the posted limit; that I have not completed a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense and am not in the process of taking such a course; and that I have not completed a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 which is not reflected on my driving record.

I understand that I will be charged court costs and an administration fee and that these fees are non-refundable and must be paid to the court before Driver Safety Course will be granted.

I understand that I am not eligible for the Driving Safety Course unless I provide proof of liability insurance as required by Texas Motor Vehicle Safety-Responsibility Act.

Signed this day of 20

Signature of Defendant-Under penalty of perjury

*Signature Must Be Notarized

Notary Public of the State of Texas / Justice Court Clerk

JUSTICE COURTS ATASCOSA COUNTY, TEXAS

JUDGE FELIX HERERRA JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT. #1 2136 2nd Street Pleasanton, Texas 78064 (830) 569-2801

JUDGE KYLE D. BRADLEY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT. #2 1567 FM 3175 Lytle, TX 78052 (830) 772-5828

JUDGE ORLANDO CARRASCO JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT, #3 P.O. BOX 416 Jourdanton, Texas 78026 (830) 769-2074

JUDGE JACKI D. BODDEN JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PCT, #4 744 Hwy 281 South Pleasanton, Texas 78064-4402 (830) 569-6614

letter is furnished as a courtesy to you by the Justice Courts of Atascosa County to assist you in making a disposition of the charges filed against you.

- PLEASE NOTE: The Judge cannot discuss the merits of a pending judicial proceeding prior to trial (Canon 3(5), Code of Judicial Conduct). This means the Judge cannot discuss your citation with you before the trial except for procedural questions.
- If you FAIL TO RESPOND to the charges BY THE APPEARANCE DATE SHOWN ON THE CITATION, an additional charge may be filed against you for Violate Promise to Appear or Failure To Appear with warrants issued for your arrest. (WARRANT FEES OF \$50.00 and DENIAL FOR RENEWAL OF DRIVER'S LICENSE FEE OF \$10.00 will be issued on each charge for EXECUTING OR PROCESSING A WARRANT OR DENIAL OF DRIVER'S LICENSE.)
- A JUVENILE who fails to appear by the time and date on a citation may have their license suspended as required by law (Transportation Code Section 729.001). MINORS under 17 years of age must appear with parent or guardian on ALL traffic violations. MINORS under 18 years of age must appear with parent or guardian on all alcoholic and tobacco related offenses.
- IF YOU WISH TO ENTER A PLEA OF GUILTY or NOLO CONTENDERE, please indicate in the proper space provided on reply form. A plea of Nolo Contendere means that you do not contest the state's charges against you. The fine and conviction for a Nolo Contendere plea is the same as that for a plea of Guilty. Either plea indicates that you agree to waive appearance before the Court for trial.

Refer to the schedule shown on the reverse side to determine the total amount of fine(s) and costs acceptable by the Court. (These fines apply only to cases handled prior to appearance or judgment being entered.) RETURN A COPY OF THE CITATION, REPLY FORM AND A SELF-ADDRESSED STAMPED ENVELOPE WITH YOUR REMITTANCE TO ASSURE PROPER CREDIT.

- If you wish to enter a plea of NOT GUILTY and desire a trial, advise the court by checking #3 on the Reply Form on or before the appearance date. You will be notified by the court when to appear for trial and any specific requirements of the court concerning bail requirements, etc.
- DRIVING SAFETY COURSE (CCP Art. 45.0511, Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course Dismissal Procedures): (Holders of a CDL are NOT eligible for DSC or Deferred Disposition.)
- You may be able to require this charge be dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course, a motorcycle operator training course, or Safety Belt course as appropriate. You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request to take the course.
- A CHARGE MAY BE DISMISSED BY COMPLETING A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE IF:
 - 1. You submit your application for the Driving Safety Course and it is approved by the Court. Do not take the course until court approval is given.
 - 2. You are characed with a moving traffic violation other than 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit. 95 mph or more, passing a school bus, construction zone violations w/ workers present. or certain offenses involving traffic accidents:
 - 3. You have NOT used this option for a ticket with an offense date, the date you broke the law that is 1 year from the offense date of your current ticket.
 - 4. You have a valid Texas Driver License other than a Commercial Driver License and you provide the court a copy. (Out of State-Active Duty Military may be eliaible)
 - 5. You provide the court with proof of liability insurance that complies with state law.
 - 6. You pay an administration fee of \$10.00 PLUS court cost of \$134.00, which makes a total of \$144.00, in form of a cashier's check or money order made out to the proper Justice Court.
 - 7. After the court receives and approves items requested in lines #1, #4, #5, and #6, due on or before your appearance date written on your ticket, you will be given notice of the following:
 - Obtain a copy of your driving record (request #3a) and return to the proper Court within 21 days. You may do this online at а https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager with a credit card or by completing the DPS Form DR-1 (available at
 - http://www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/DR-1.pdf by following the instructions written on the form. b Complete a Driving Safety Course/Motorcycle Operator Course that is state approved and return to the Court within 90 days. (A list is available at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/driver/driver.htm

JUSTICE COURT-ATASCOSA COUNTY, TEXAS SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES

This schedule applies to fines paid on or before your appearance date.

VIOLATION:

For Speeding violation 25 miles Per Hour and Over	\$334.00
For CDL Drivers: Speeding violation 15 miles Over the Speed Limit	
Any School Crossing Zone violation	\$305.00
Overtaking and passing a school bus	\$1,055.00
Fail to Stop for School Bus	

SPEEDING VIOLATION: \$6.00 per Mile Over Speed Limit Plus \$134.00 Court Cost & Fees

Disregard Stop Sign or Traffic Signal	\$245.00
Disregard Warning Sign at Construction **See Note	\$245.00
Fail to Drive in Single Lane or Unsafe lane change	\$245.00
Changed Lanes when Unsafe	\$245.00
Disregard No Passing Zone	\$245.00
Operate Motorcycle without Approved Headgear	\$111.00
No Driver's License	\$235.00
Displayed Altered Driver's License	
Expired Driver's License or Failure to Display	\$175.00
Fail to Report Change of Address (or Name) on Driver's License	\$155.00
Violate Driver's License Restriction	\$175.00
Permitting Unlicensed Person or Minor to Drive	\$280.00
Ride not secured by Safety Belt/Improperly Worn (Driver) (Passenger)	\$175.00
Unrestrained Child 8-15 yrs (and those under 8 but taller than 4'9")	\$270.00
Child Safety Seat (Under 8 yrs or less than 4'9" in height)	\$255.00
Consume Alcoholic Beverage While Driving	\$315.00
Possession of Alcoholic Beverage in Motor Vehicle ("Open Container")	\$315.00
Minor in Possession of Alcoholic Beverage (under 18 yrs must appear with parent)	\$315.00
Public Intoxication	\$315.00
Possession of Narcotic Paraphernalia	\$515.00
Drove on Improved Shoulder when Prohibited	\$235.00
Drove without Lights when Required	\$185.00
Fail to Dim Lights-Meeting or Following	\$185.00
No Liability Insurance	\$305.00
Following too closely	\$205.00
Display Expired License Plates	\$135.00
Fail to Yield Right-of-Way/ Pass Stationary Emergency Vehicle	\$275.00
Fail to Control Speed	\$245.00
Unsafe Speed or Impeding Traffic	\$245.00
Fail to Report Injury Accident at Once	\$245.00
Defective Brakes (or No Brakes)	\$195.00
Defective or No Head Lamp(s) or Tail Lamp(s)	\$195.00

JUSTICE COURT-ATASCOSA COUNTY, TEXAS SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES

Failure to Display or Expired Motor Vehicle Inspection	\$145.00
Use Equipment Not Approved (Glass Coating Material)	\$165.00
Wrong Side of Roadway Not Passing or Unsafe Turn	\$230.00
Cross Median Where Prohibited	\$225.00
Failure to Display Front/Back License Plate	\$180.00
Violate Promise to Appear	\$245.00
Fail to Appear	

CONTACT THE APPROPRIATE COURT (IN PERSON OR IN WRITING) FOR:

- 1) Charges or fines not listed.
- 2) Fines for any offense which occurred in school zone.
- CONSTRUCTION ZONE VIOLATIONS (W/ workers present)
 <u>**NOTE: If workers present in construction zone the fine doubles.</u>
- 4) If you receive a citation for NO LIABILITY INSURANCE proof must be shown with the effective date prior to the issuance of the citation and show proof to the Court on or before your appearance date, your case will be dismissed.
- 5) Charges for <u>EXPIRED</u> Motor Vehicle Inspection, Registration and Driver's License <u>if Remedied before first court</u> <u>appearance</u> of date of citation will be dismissed with a \$20.00 dismissal fee plus a copy of the receipt upon proof of renewal.

This document is furnished as a courtesy by the Court and does not constitute legal advice and does not cover all situations.

Pay By Cashier's Check or Money Order NO PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS

Payable to: Justice Court

DO NOT MAIL CASH

JUVENILES 16 & UNDER MUST APPEAR IN COURT WITH PARENT OR GUARDIAN BEFORE THEIR APPEARANCE DATE.

- NOTE: *Minors under 17 years of age must appear with parent or guardian on all traffic violations. *Minors under 18 years of age must appear with parent or guardian on all ALCOHOL and TOBACCO related
 - offenses.